The Hunt Front and Back Cover IMG_4277

Young wakes up in a hospital room, turning into the same thing that killed his wife: a vampire. It’s a notion that he ceased laughing at as he set out in pursuit of his wife’s murderer and the defiler of his body.

Roek finds himself in London, Ky after escaping the mess he’d created at his previous hunting ground. He doesn’t know that he is already being stalked.

Haskel Peters and Sonja Murray prepare the United States Variation Unit for yet another bloody hunt. They’re unaware that they’re stepping between another man and his revenge.

2/5 stars

I received this book through a Goodreads Giveaway.

I don’t read novella’s often, but, as far as I am aware, novella basically means short novel. So, with that, I would assume there would be more to the story than one event. The Hunt was exceptionally short, only 67 pages, but it still felt like a lot more could have happened within these pages. What could have made the book run faster might be to remove some of points of view. The reader follows three points of view, detailed above in the book blurb, and we get a scene by scene recount of what happened to each of these characters from start to finish, from the first page to the last, during the hunt of the two vampire characters, Young and Roek, by the USVU, which characters Haskel and Murray are a part of. Sometimes the same scene is described in all three POV’s, which is interesting because it provides such insight into the situation, but with a piece this short, I’m not sure that was the best use of space.

In the introduction of the novella, we discover this is the first of three novellas continuing the plot from the short story,  ‘The Pendant’, in Jeremiah Donaldson’s collection titled …whatever…. Perhaps combining the three novellas to make one novel would have worked better for me, as a reader. That way, I could develop a relationship with the characters, where right now I only care about Young, the man who just turned into a vampire. I despise Roek, and I honestly don’t care at all what happens to Haskel and Murray. One novel instead of three novellas might provide enough time for the reader to really connect with the characters and feel for them.

Overall, I didn’t care for this story too much. There just wasn’t enough character or plot to keep me interested, and not enough surprise or mystery to make me think, “Wow that was clever and I see why it wasn’t extended.” Right now, the form just doesn’t make sense to me. The one thing I really do like about this, the part that makes it original, is the scientific thought that went into the vampires.

They aren’t just vampires, these ones fit to the science. Vampire viruses are mentioned, which allow this book to be set in the ‘real world’ even with these fantasy elements. Garlic and other herbs work against the virus, making the vampires weak. The virus makes the body not need oxygen, so muscles don’t get tired, allowing the vampires to work harder, longer, and stronger. The virus also prevents them from feeling pain, allowing them to go past the capacity for many things we consider humanly possible. While there are things that aren’t explained, like how the cells in the body could survive from lack of oxygen or how the blood of others speeds the healing process, I like how there is science. It makes the world more probable.

This book is meant to be a horror, I believe, because the author mentions watching horrors with his grandfather long ago in the introduction. Maybe I am just a desensitized human being, but I didn’t find this book scary at all, perhaps because I was in the head of each character and knew exactly what was going to happen.

Also, sometimes I would get lost in the action. Maybe this was just me reading, but one person would be one place and then suddenly talking to someone in a different place, and I would miss the transitions from one area to another. Sometimes, if I went back, I would find that, yes, there was a sentence that describes a move from one area to the other, but maybe some of the places where I got confused could have benefited from another sentence describing the movement.

For someone who wants a quick, vampire, or military read, this is one to pick up. It wasn’t for me, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t for you, so give it a chance if you are into those elements!

